St. George’s Organ Nearing Completion

The new Parsons 3 Manual Tracker Organ at St. George’s

After four weeks of work by Parsons craftsmen, St. George’s new pipe organ is nearing completion.  The majority of pipes have been installed, voiced and tuned, and final adjustments are being made to the key and coupler action before the crew takes a well deserved Thanksgiving break.  Tonal director Duane Prill will return with several assistants to install, voice and tune the remaining reed and mixture  pipes after Thanksgiving, so that all will be ready for the organ’s maiden voyage on December 5th. 

I’ve been able to spend some time playing the instrument, and some pipes are still awaiting installation, it’s very impressive.  It has principal choruses on all three manuals and a varied selection of flutes, reeds and strings.  There is a wealth of foundation tone to support hymn singing as well.  I’m looking forward to spending some time getting better acquainted in the coming weeks.

4 Comments

Filed under Church Music, Classical Music

4 responses to “St. George’s Organ Nearing Completion

  1. Joseph Price

    What a wondrus thing is this new organ! We cannot wait to hear the inaugural concert by our resident maestro. Good thing the blower got sorted. Excitement mounts and we are so happy for John et al!

  2. Brian Monroe

    Congratulations on the new organ. I am a Fredericksburg native and former member of St. George’s ( & choir) during the Charles Sydner era. I studied organ with Harold Abmyer at the methodist church, but Charles and Shirley Onderdonk were kind enough to allow me practice time on the old Lewis and Hitchcock. My elderly parents reside across the river and I hope to get across the bridge on some future visit to see it in person. I have subscribed to the blog with the hope that sometime in the future I can visit and have a opportunity to play it. After his write up in the FLS last year, I connected with Westin Jennings with the hope that our AGO chapter here might be able to bring him for a recital. With some planning, perhaps I can schedule a visit during his recital you are planning next year. Again, congratulations on getting this far, the renovation is stunning and quite fitting for this magnificent instrument of praise. Brian Monroe, Pawley’s Island, South Carolina.

    • Brian,
      Let me know when you’re in town and I’ll arrange some practice time for you. We’re looking at a March date for Weston, but haven’t finalized it yet. He’s a fine player, studying with David Higgs at Eastman. Ken Cowan does our formal dedication recital on Friday, May 5. Peace,
      JHV

    • Linda West

      Brian, I’m sure you will remember me. I’m still here and John and I are still living in the same place. I am now a member of St. Georges and play in the bell choir. We can hardly wait for Dec. 5 when the organ will play for the service. At bell choir practice we got to sneak in to the nave and listen to the organ as it was being voiced and then when he saw us he played some Bach for us as we sat on the floor. It was a taste of heaven.
      It is so good to make contact with you. Give me a call when you are in town.

      Let’s go to Italy:>) Linda or (Mrs. West)

Leave a Reply

